Coolest technique

This technique was taught by Lovebug Stephanie on Lovebug Scrapbooking and it is so cool.  I had a Scenic Route chipboard bird that I painted with metallic silver paint.  You can use any metallic colour that you wish but I only had silver.   We then covered the painted chipboard with glue.  We were told school white glue can be used but  I choose Aleene’s tacky glue.   We then held our chipboard over a lit candle and let it burn the glue to a charred and wrinkled effect.  It is supposed to give you a metallic embellishment.    I had a generous layer of glue so had to make sure the glue was dry first.   After that we buffed the chipboard piece with paper towel and sealed it with a fixative.   I did some minor modifications to mine.  Before I sealed  it, I wanted to add a bit of colour so I chose green metallic rub on to give it a hint of colour.  I also added a Kaiser Craft pearl for the eye.   I loved my class at Lovebug where they are offering more classes in the future.  Thanks to Stephanie I will use the technique again.  Also mentioned here

4 thoughts on “Coolest technique

Leave a Reply

